What Hartlepool Needs

Started by Jamescampbell78, April 04, 2014, 08: PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamescampbell78

It needs a common sense approach.

It needs people to stop thinking about lining the pockets of developers who pretend they want to do what's best for the town.

It needs people in charge to think about how the economics of a small town work and plan based on that, not some government scheme or initiative or stuff that will get a short term grant.  Stuff that will develop and grow the town in a sustainable way without requiring much outside assistance.

I'm not a massive expert here, my background is surveying, urban land economics, banking, training and latterly strategy and analytics so a lot of this is blue sky thinking (hate that term by the way but it pretty much is just that).

Right this town has an populace where the majority are out of work or are not working within the confines of Hartlepool (myself included).  This tells me we do have employable people with key skills and are just missing some spark to attract employers.

We have an failing retail core in the town centre.

What we need to try and do is:

A) Attract a manufacturing/engineering type company to the town to utilise some of the skillsets currently working outside of Hartlepool.

B) Breathe life into the retail core of the town to stimulate spending in town, ideally from small independent businesses so that the money is reinvested in Hartlepool, however I'm realistic enough to know that you need a couple of blue chip national chains in the retail core to attract footfalls and make the retail units attractive to others.

C) We need to encourage people to visit the town and spend money here, we have some decent tourist attractions to start bringing people in, but they're a hook, people visit them once and rarely come back...That's because there's nothing else to keep them coming back.....Back to the retail core thing again.